Nonantum (no/nan/tum). The name itself comes from a Native American word meaning ‘blessing’ or ‘prayer’, but has become synonymous with ‘family’. Originally opened on July 4th, 1884, The Nonantum’s 28 original rooms and 10 original staff have grown, and with the hotel’s growth, the Nonantum’s vision has also grown. The family- owned and run Nonantum is proud to be a dedicated member of the community, supporting multiple causes and initiatives in the Southern Maine area, with staff members sitting on multiple local and state boards, and participating in events state-wide to support causes close to heart of The Nonantum. The heart that beats at the center of The Nonantum begins with the Ginn Family, the devoted owners since 1994, and continues outward through their staff, to their guests. The passion for family, coupled with the unshakable values of the Nonantum, and Maine itself, push The Nonantum to be constantly evolving and improving to give our guests, property, and staff the experience and treatment that each deserves.

 

Chronological History of the Resort

1883

Ground Breaking on a site believed to be a trading center where native Americans traded with early settlers. The word Nonantum is from the Native American Algonquian word meaning blessing or pray.

1884

The original Inn opened on July 4th with 28 rooms and 10 staff members.

1887

Additional land purchased to expand the resorts waterfront area.

1891

A small addition was built and alterations were done to the dining room.

1902

The front Piazza was added to the Inn.

1930

The rear wing was added on to the Inn.

1963

The outdoor pool is built and filled with salt water.

1973

The front Wicker Wing was added to the Carriage House.

1987

The Portside Lodge was built and dramatically increased the number of rooms at the resort.

1998

The resort gets a new pool.

2000

Complete renovation of the kitchen.

2001

All of the Rooms in the Portside Lodge are redecorated with summer cottage furniture.

2002

The Dominion Ballroom gets a new look and all of the bathrooms in the Carriage House Inn are renovated and updated.

2006

The marina is rebuilt. Resort wide WiFi is added. 123rd season is our longest season ever – opening of April 16th and closing on December 17th.

2008

Nonantum Resort celebrates its 125th Anniversary and Heckman’s Pub opens.

2009

Latitudes Bar and Grill opens by the pool.

2010

All Portside rooms (excluding Green Rooms) receive a complete renovation that include bamboo hardwood flooring, Cuddledown® bedding, and artwork provided by local artists.

2013

Complete redesign and renovation of 95 Ocean. Transitioned from a patio to a fully enclosed, four-season dining room and event space. Also full renovation of 20 Guest Rooms in Portside Lodge.

2014

Restyling of Main Lobby in Carriage House Inn. Brand new furniture, creating a new style and overall welcome experience. Full renovation of 20 Guest Rooms in Carriage House Inn.

2015

Front Porch space glassed-in and newly renovated. Completed installation of all new mini split AC/heating units in all 109 guestrooms.

2016

Brand new elevator and staircase added to the historic Carriage House Inn. New Ballroom hardwood floors. Expanded/enhanced water view function space.

2017

Complete kitchen renovation took place after we shut down for the winter in 2016. We re-opened for the 2017 season with a sparkling new kitchen that served a wedding of 225 people

2018

Our staff house was completely rebuilt on its existing foundation in order to house 8 staff members and interns as well as offices for our HR Department.

2019

Complete renovation of 39 bathrooms throughout Carriage House and Portside.